Penn Calendar Penn A-Z School of Arts and Sciences University of Pennsylvania


Ambassador S. K. Singh (1932 - 2009)
Founding Secretary-General (1995-2004)
(former Governor of Rajasthan and Arunachal Pradesh, former Foreign Secretary of India)

Ambassador was the Founding Secretary-General of UPIASI. In December 2004, he was appointed Governor of Arunachal Pradesh and in September 2007, Governor of Rajasthan and remained a member of the Governing Council of UPIASI in an honorary capacity.

Ambassador Singh was a former Foreign Secretary of India. He was India's Ambassador to Lebanon, Austria, Jordan, Cyprus, Afghanistan, and Pakistan, and served as Foreign Secretary of India in 1989-90. He has represented India at the United Nations on the Economic and Social Council, the Human Rights Commission and the UNIDO & the UNCTAD. For three years, Ambassador Singh was the Indian Governor on the IAEA Board of Governors in Vienna. He has monitored General Elections in Kenya, Lesotho, South Africa, Malawi & Sierra Leone on behalf of the Commonwealth Secretary-General. He was also a Penn parent.

Dr. Eswaran Sridharan
Academic Director and Chief Executive

Eswaran Sridharan is the Academic Director and Chief Executive of the University of Pennsylvania Institute for the Advanced Study of India (UPIASI), (in New Delhi), from its inception in 1997, and was earlier with the Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi. He is a political scientist with research interests in the party systems and coalition politics, political economy of development, and international relations theory and Indian foreign policy. He is the author of The Political Economy of Industrial Promotion: Indian, Brazilian and Korean Electronics in Comparative Perspective 1969-1994 (1996); and has co-edited (with Zoya Hasan and R. Sudarshan), India’s Living Constitution: Ideas, Practices, Controversies (2002; 2005); co-edited (with Anthony D’Costa), India in the Global Software Industry: Innovation, Firms Strategies and Development, (2004); co-edited (with Peter de Souza) India’s Political Parties (2006); and edited The India-Pakistan Nuclear Relationship: Theories of Deterrence and International Relations (2007), International Relations Theory and South Asia, Vols. I & II (2011), Coalition Politics and Democratic Consolidation in Asia (2012) and Coalition Politics in India: Selected Issues at the Centre and the States (2014). He has published over sixty-five journal articles and chapters in edited volumes. He has held visiting appointments at the University of California, Berkeley, London School of Economics, Institute of South Asian Studies of the National University of Singapore, and Institute of Developing Economies, Tokyo. He is the Editor of India Review, a refereed Routledge journal, and is on the Editorial Advisory Board of Commonwealth and Comparative Politics. He earned his Ph.D. in political science at the University of Pennsylvania.

Governing Council

Retirement of Earlier Governing Council in 2011

The President of the Governing Council, Mr. Keshub Mahindra, Chairman, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd., the Vice-President, Dr. Vinay Bharat-Ram, Managing Director, DCM Ltd, and Dr. Kapila Vatsyayan, Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha) retired on March 31, 2011, after serving on the Governing Council from the inception and building up UPIASI as an institution. UPIASI appreciates their enormous contribution to its growth.

President, Governing Council:
Ramanan Raghavendran
Managing Partner, Amasia

Sanjay Labroo
Managing Director & CEO, Asahi India Glass Ltd.

Mr. Vikram Limaye
Managing Director & CEO
National Stock Exchange of India Ltd (NSE)

Professor Devesh Kapur
Director, Center for the Advanced Study of India
University of Pennsylvania

Professor Rogers Smith
Associate Dean, Social Sciences, School of Arts & Sciences
University of Pennsylvania

Ms. Pia Singh
DLF Ltd.


The Founder Members of UPIASI are also Life Members and are on the General Body:

Professor Emerita Francine Frankel
Professor of Political Science and South Asian Studies, University of Pennsylvania

Mr. Keshub Mahindra
Chairman Emeritus, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd., Mumbai, India

Dr. Kapila Vatsyayan
Former Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha)


Research Advisory Committee

Dr. Devesh Kapur
Director, Center for the Advanced Study of India
University of Pennsylvania

Professor Zoya Hasan
Centre for Political Studies
Jawaharlal Nehru University

Dr. Rahul Mukherji
Department of Political Science, South Asia Institute
Heidelberg University

Dr. E. Sridharan
Academic Director and Chief Executive, UPIASI